Sticking with the Apples

Current laptop:

  • MANUFACTURER AND MODEL: Apple MacBook Pro 13” mid 2010
  • CPU NAME AND SPEED: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE AND STORAGE CAPACITY: 250GB Serial ATA; 5400 rpm
  • RAM: 4GB
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: NVIDIA GeForce 320M
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION (measured in pixels): 1280×800
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE (measured in inches): 13 inches
  • BATTERY LIFE: 10 hours (wireless productivity)
  • WEIGHT: 4.5Lbs
  • DATA PORTS (e.g. USB): MagSafe power port, Gigabit Ethernet port, One FireWire 800 port, Mini DisplayPort, Two USB 2.0 ports, SD card slot, Audio in/out, and Kensington lock slot
  • VIDEO CONNECTIONS (e.g. HDMI, VGA): iSight Camera and Mini DisplayPort with support for DVI output VGA output, Dual-link DVI output, and HDMI output (but it requires an adaptor)
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: 1247

If I were to but another Mac, I would go for:

  • MANUFACTURER AND MODEL: Apple MacBook Air 13”
  • CPU NAME AND SPEED: 2.2GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i7
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE AND STORAGE CAPACITY: 128GB
  • RAM: 8GB 1600MHz LPDDR3 SDRAM
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: Intel HD Graphics 6000
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION (measured in pixels): 1440 x 900
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE (measured in inches):
  • BATTERY LIFE: 12 hours wireless web
  • WEIGHT: 2.96Lbs
  • DATA PORTS: 2 USB ports, Thunderbolt port
  • VIDEO CONNECTIONS: Thunderbolt digital video output
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE:
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Price: $999 –> $1249 (2.2GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i7)

If I got a PC, I am leaning towards:

  • MANUFACTURER AND MODEL: Lenovo Yoga 3 Pro 80HE00FVUS
  • CPU NAME AND SPEED: Intel Core M-5Y71 Processor (1.20GHz 1600MHz 4MB)
  • HARD DRIVE TYPE AND STORAGE CAPACITY: 256GB SSD
  • RAM: 8.0GB DDR3L 1600 MHz
  • VIDEO CARD DETAILS: Intel® HD Graphics 5300
  • MAXIMUM DISPLAY RESOLUTION (measured in pixels): 3200 x 1800
  • LAPTOP DISPLAY SIZE (measured in inches): 13.3″
  • BATTERY LIFE:  7.2 hours
  • WEIGHT:  2.6 lbs
  • DATA PORTS: 2 x USB 3.0, 1 x DC-in with USB 2.0 function, 4-in-1 card reader (SD, MMC, SDXC, SDHC), Audio Combo Jack
  • VIDEO CONNECTIONS: Micro-HDMI out,
  • CPU BENCHMARK SCORE: 2627
  • OS: Windows 8.1 64
  • Price: $1,149

I grew up using a PC but got a Mac before college because I wanted to know how to use both. There are things I like about both and there a things that annoy me about both. The most important thing for me for my next computer is that it not weigh more than 4lbs. My current laptop is 4.5lbs and that can be a lot to carry when I am on the go. I also don’t want a screen that is much smaller or bigger, I know most times with a larger screen comes the heavier weight, and I wanted to keep the screen at about 13” so I don’t feel like the screen is too small or I’m constantly zooming in. So my upgraded Mac choice is a MacBook Air, this is mainly to cut down on the weight. My PC choice is the Lenovo Yoga 3, I like its flexibility and it is even lighter than the MackBook Air, but its battery life is significantly less. The battery issue really makes me worry, so I am leaning towards the MacBook Air as my final decision.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

