Jumping on the Apple Bandwagon?

I own a Dell XPS 15z that I got in mid-2011. I have had HUGE problems with it but I am starting to think that I just got a bad apple. For being four years old, the specs actually match up relatively well. Here are the specifications:

Model Name and Number: Dell XPS L511Z

Processor: Intel(R) Core (TM) i5-2410M @2.3GHz

Memory: 6GB Shared Dual Channel DDR3 1333MHz Memory

Storage/Storage Type: Up to 500GB* SATA hard drive

Battery Life: Up to 8 hours 22 mins

Screen Size: 15.6 inch

Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 525M 1GB graphics with Optimus

Resolution: 1366 x 768

Weight: 5.54 lbs

Ports and connections: HDMI 1.4 (1), Mini DisplayPort (1), RJ-45 (1), headphone (1), microphone (1)
3 total USB ports; USB 3.0 (2); USB 2.0/eSATA combo with PowerShare (1)
9-in-1 media card reader supporting SD, SDIO, SDXC, SDHC, MS, MS Pro, MMC, MSXC, xD

CPU Benchmark Score: 4762

I looked at the newest (smaller) XPS to compare it to my current XPS. Here are the specs for that one:

Model Name and Number: Dell XPS 13 9343

Processor: 5th Generation Intel® Core™ i5-5500U Processor (3M Cache, up to 2.70 GHz)

Memory: 8GB Dual Channel DDR3L-RS 1600Mhz (On Board)

Storage/Storage Type: 256GB Solid State Drive

Battery Life: Up to 12 hours

Screen Size: 13.3 inch

Graphics Card: Intel (R) HD Graphics 5500

Resolution: 3200 x 1800

Weight: 2.81 lbs

Ports and connections: 2 USB 3.0, 1 DisplayPort, 1 Kensington Lock, Audio Connections: 3.5 mm combo, Card Reader: SD / MMC

CPU Benchmark Score: 5799

Price: $1,149

Finally, I wanted to look at at a Mac because I am considering jumping on the bandwagon after my poor experience with my current XPS. I looked at a MacBook Pro.

Model Name and Number: MacBook Pro (Early 2015)

Processor: 2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz

Memory: 8GB of 1866MHz LPDDR3 onboard memory

Storage/Storage Type: 512 GB Solid State Drive

Laptop

Battery Life: Up to 10 hours

Screen Size: 13.3 inch

Graphics Card: Intel Iris Graphics 6100

Resolution: 2560×1600

Weight: 3.48 lbs

Ports and connections: MagSafe 2 power port, Two Thunderbolt 2 ports (up to 20 Gbps), Two USB 3 ports (up to 5 Gbps), HDMI port, Headphone port, SDXC card slot

CPU Benchmark Score: 12621

Price: $1,799

Overall, I think I would stick with an XPS if I based my decision entirely on specifications. It is MUCH cheaper and matches up equally or better to the MacBook Pro. Even though I absolutely hate my current computer, the numbers seem to tell otherwise. I am thinking I may have just gotten unlucky with my specific computer. Unfortunately, I am being forced to buy a Dell Latitude (I get to choose between touchscreen and non-touchscreen) for medical school because it can be configured to their liking. I also did the specs for that one, but it seems like it doesn’t match up and still costs $1,400. Anyway, I don’t need too much because I’m not a gamer and use my computer for very basic things. It is unfortunate that I have to pay so much!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

