Top Choice for Computers

In order to find the right computer, I have to think about what kind of situation I will need it for. In my case, I will soon become part of the “real world” and hopefully the working world as well. In the past six years I’ve had my laptop, I have used it mainly for writing papers and watching movies. Since I won’t have to write many papers any time soon, that won’t be a priority.  However, I do  have a lot of pictures and music stored in my current laptop. The amount of storage will be important.

As far as a Mac goes, I have never had one. I’ve only ever had PCs and they have all been great.  For a Mac I have chosen the MacBook Air Early 2014.

It includes:

  • 13 inch screen
  • 128 or 256 based flash storage
  • Native resolution of 1440 by 900
  • Battery power of up to 12 hours using wireless interned
  • Intel HD Graphics 5000
  • 4GB of memory
  • Camera
  • Two USB ports
  • 1.4 GHz dual-core Interl Core i5
  • Thunderbolt digital video output
  • Operating Sytem: OS X Mavericks
  • Price: $900

It is small and light and would be perfect for just watching movies or researching something online.

For a PC I would like a Dell XPS 13. It’s the same size as a MacBook Air, but it has a few more features, which are non-essential but still very cool.

It includes:

  • Processor: 5th Generation Interl Core i5
  • Operating System: Windows 8.1
  • Memory: 8GB
  • Hard Drive: 128GB solid state drive
  • Video card: Intel (R) HD Graphics 5500
  • Resolution: 3200 by 1800
  • Battery life: 52 hrs wireless
  • Touch screen
  • Price: $1299

Even after this assignment, I prefer PCs. In my opinion, you get more for your money. The problem with Mac is the fact that all your devices have to be compatible and this means having to spend even more money than is necessary. Since I don’t need special computers for gaming or video editing,  I’m not sure which brand would be better. For me, PCs work and Macs are more like a fancy toy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

