You Better Ask Saul (How to protect your online identity)

In order to resemble a credible source, the website I created, titled You Better Call Saul, borrows themes from both Google and Ask Jeeves. Both these themes come into play on the search page which is Google-like in appearance due to the simple feel of the page as well as the placement of the logo on-top of the search bar (as seen below) . Instead, the Ask Jeeves theme appears in the logo and name of the site, “Better Ask Saul,”  which works as a reference to the Netflix original series “Better Call Saul”.

seach-page

Furthermore, the website uses popular culture, i.e., the shows “Better Call Saul” and its parent show “Breaking Bad” to make the site interesting and fun. The premise for the site’s existence is that a user, presumably someone who is in trouble with the law or needs a lawyer, stumbles upon the site “Better Ask Saul”. The search page allows them to ask whether they have committed a crime or ask any question they may be curious to know the answer to.

Then, the user is urged to register as one of Saul’s clients to receive further benefits on the register page (below). If they do sign up, the information provided is gathered and stored through the use of JavaScript. This information includes but is not limited to: their name, current occupation, current city, birthday and more.

registration-page

The user is then directed to the “What the Government Knows” page (below) which regurgitates all the information they have entered within the context of this site alone. This site uses the government, and the internet, as a way of inducing fear in the user. This page specifically showcases the sensitive information the user entered willingly which was stored, presumably to become a client of Saul’s, but will probably be kept for much longer than necessary and used in a myriad of ways.

government-page

Finally, the site directs the user to the e-commerce page (below) where, if freaked out enough, they are pressured into purchasing a “new identity” which is selected based on the occupation the user entered earlier.

Unfortunately, even with a new identity, the internet, or government in this case, will probably still be successful in gathering information about the user- only this time the metadata (searches, search terms, and preferences) collected will be linked to a fake name. Is that any better? That’s for you to decide.

I didn’t encounter too many large-scale issues with this site although I did run into many small ones. For some reason even though I had the right ID in place in the JavaScript Code I couldn’t get an ID to work until I changed it to another word, e.g., from police to police-officer. I couldn’t get the search count to reset although I did include the localStorage.clear in the code. I eventually took that out. I also found it challenging to get the website to learn a user’s browser name and platform (creepy, I know). Finally, I found a quick answer which uses the code “navigator.appName” and “navigator.platform” respectively. The rest of the problems I encountered were solved by paying attention to detail and staying organized, especially when it came with local stored variables and IDs.

About saradiblasi

I always write, in the back of notebooks, or on napkins, anywhere really. Any surface is a viable platform for my writing as long as I have a pen in hand. My blog is just an extension of the sentences I scrambled to write down before they were lost among my other thoughts. I'm hoping to connect with other writers and I'd love to check out other writing blogs!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

