Typefaces, B*tch!

I began by investigating the prices for the typefaces that my client, Jesse Pinkman, requested, for a project that I am not at liberty to divulge. The combination of Frutiger ($339), Adobe Optima ($265), Adobe Futura ($492), and Lexicon No. 1 ADF Bundle ($1,334.89) was a whopping $2,430.89. I immediately alerted my client to this fact, to which he responded: “No way, bitch! I’m a blowfish!” So, I went to dafont and found a series of free typefaces that fit nicely within his desired design scheme. These include: Revolution, Linux Libertine, Alpha Fitness, and Rough Typewriter. The following image shows examples of these fonts in the order that they are listed:

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 7.48.39 AM

Jesse Pinkman approved!

Inspired, I went on an online journey in search of one workhorse serif typeface and one workhorse sans-serif typeface. Following the guidelines found in Jessica Hische’s article titled “Upping Your Type Game,” I chose Andada (serif) and Alegreya Sans (sans-serif). I chose Andada because it has eight styles, which I thought would pair nicely in a variety of different ways with Alegreya Sans, which has twenty-eight styles and multiple weights. In addition, both typefaces have a generous x-height. Finally, they are both typefaces that “I’d want to hang out with” and will for the rest of the semester. Below, I applied Andada (serif) to a paper I wrote for COMM 3325 – Women and Minorities in Media:

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 8.29.49 AM

The greatest paper ever written! (Not)…

(This blog post is inspired by the series premiere of Better Call Saul tonight on AMC 10/9c).

This entry was posted in Blog #2. Font Madness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

