Finding My Type

“For better or for worse, picking a typeface is more like getting dressed in the morning. Just as with clothing, there’s a distinction between typefaces that are expressive and stylish versus those that are useful and appropriate for many situations, and our job is to try to find the right balance for the occasion.”

-Dan Meyer

Finding the right type, font type, can be quite challenging. After all, there are thousands of options (both pricy and free) that are available on the web. Fonts like Frutiger ($264), Adobe Optima ($265), Adobe Futura ($377), and Lexicon No. 1 ADF Bundle ($2811) are examples of costly options for web designers. If one were to choose these fonts for their website the cost for purchasing the typeface alone would be a grand total of $3,717. Fortunately there are websites such as dafont and services like Google fonts that provide fonts free of charge- because free is everyone’s type of font.

There are various options out there and I narrowed my search for my type by focusing on free options. This is what my name looks like in fonts downloaded from dafont. They are Linux Libertine, Revolution, Alpha Fitness, and Sweet Pea respectively.

Different FontsAfter getting my fill from grocery shopping for fonts, I sorted through them to look for a few keepers. By keeping Dan Meyer’s advice in mind, I searched for some go-to fonts that I could “wear” with every website. I ended up selecting Linux Libertine, Sanford, and Roman Serif as serif type fonts because their letters have appropriate thickness, height, and weight. The letters are spaced just right to make the fonts neat and legible. I had more trouble finding sans serif fonts that looked good in my opinion. Most of the fonts I downloaded looked too bulky and were hard on the eye. For this reason I found only two fonts I liked and even these aren’t necessarily my favorite. I ended up choosing Gravity and Compass. I selected these two for most of the same reasons I chose their serif counterparts. Additionally, I like Gravity because it comes in many weights and in true italics and bold.

Here is what Sanford, one of the serif fonts I’ve downloaded, looks like. I’ve applied it to a section of a short story I’m working on for my Advanced Fiction class.

Serif Preview

Not too bad. This font could work. Choosing one font isn’t the difficult part, the challenge is pairing fonts. While I was looking for fonts to use I stumbled across a generous article featured in Creative Blog titled Typographical Twins: 20 Perfect Font Pairings. Feel free to check it out anytime you have trouble finding your type. Good Luck!

About saradiblasi

I always write, in the back of notebooks, or on napkins, anywhere really. Any surface is a viable platform for my writing as long as I have a pen in hand. My blog is just an extension of the sentences I scrambled to write down before they were lost among my other thoughts. I'm hoping to connect with other writers and I'd love to check out other writing blogs!
This entry was posted in Blog #2. Font Madness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

