Marifer: A Brief Intro + Thoughts on Technology

Hello everyone! My name is Maria F. Valenzuela Gomez and I like to go by Marifer. I am a senior Communication major with a Film Studes minor. In the next few paragraphs I will try to give you a brief glimpse into who I am, my interests, my dreams about the future, and my thoughts on technology.

It is important to mention that I was born and raised in Mexico in the border city of Juarez. I moved to El Paso, TX when I was forteen and have been living in the U.S. since. Being able to experience both cultures has definitely enlightened me when it comes to human relations.

Reading is one of my favorite things to do. I am also an avid scholar of pop culture. The changing trends, the popular themes across different decades, and the lasting impressions books, television, and movies can have on a society amaze me. Feminism is also a very important part of my life. I think women being treated as human beings is an important matter to discuss. In an ideal world, I would become the host of a show that talked about women’s role in pop culture. In a realistic world, I’ll be accepted to grad school and be able to become a college professor some day.

As far as technology goes, I would describe my interactions with it as that of a spectator. I like to analyze and make connections, but I am not as creative as I would like to be. The computers I have been fortunate to have have been  used mostly as a tool to learn more about the world around me and to communicate, not necessarily to learn about the technology itself.

The role technology has had in the world is more complicated. Computers and the Internet are definitely a blessing and have made life easier and more intersting. However, this luxury has come with a price. Among other things the Internet provides, the anonimity the Internet can provide creates a platform where bullies can get away with hurtful comments that have even led people to suicide. For example, this article about a girl in Florida who committed suicide after being cyberbullied. It is essential to teach the younger generations about media literacy and ethics when it comes to technology. In five to ten years, I believe I will be using technology for the same reasons I am using it now: to learn and to communicate.

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

